The Occupational Safety and Health Administration implemented its revised recordkeeping rules on January 1, 2015. The revised rules include:
- OSHA’s revised list of low-hazard industries that are exempt from routinely keeping injury and illness records (click here to view the list)
- OSHA’s list of severe work-related injuries that all covered employers must report to OSHA
- The exemption for any employer with ten (10) or fewer employees from the requirement to routinely keep records
- The current requirement to report all work-related fatalities within 8 hours
- Fatalities occurring within 30-days of the work-related incident must be reported to OSHA
- The requirement that all employers must report all work-related in-patient hospitalizations, amputations and loss of an eye within 24 hours to OSHA.
You can report to OSHA by calling 1-800-321-6742, calling the local area office, or use an online form.
For more information on OSHA’s revised recordkeeping rule, click the following link: https://www.osha.gov/recordkeeping2014/
Establishments located in States under Federal OSHA jurisdiction must begin to comply on January 1st, 2015.
Maryland Occupational Safety and Health (MOSH) is instructing employers to comply with OSHA’s revised rules. Virginia Occupational Safety and Health (VOSH) has indicated that a statute needs to be passed before the record keeping rules become law in Virginia.